Vermont DUI Penalties

First Offense:

If a motorist is convicted of DUI first offense, they face up to 2 years in prison a fine of up to $750 or both. 23 VSA 1210(b).

Beyond the potential imprisonment penalty and fine, a motorist will also face a 90-180 day license suspension.  In order to have their license reinstated a motorist must complete the following:

1)  Complete the Vermont CRASH program;

2) If ordered by the CRASH administrator, undergo alcohol counseling at the motorists’ expense;

3)  Submit completed CRASH certificate to the Vermont DMV;

4)  Pay a $73.00 reinstatement fee to the Vermont DMV;

5)  Wait for the Vermont DMV to inform you in writing that your right to operate in the State of Vermont has been reinstated.

Second Offense:

If charged with a Vermont DUI, having been convicted of a prior DUI a motorists faces up to 2 years in prison with a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail a $1500 fine or both.  23 VSA 1210(c).  A motorist may also face a license suspension of up to 18 months.

Felony DUI

A motorist charged with a third DUI faces felony DUI.  Felony DUI carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in prison a fine of not more than $2,500 or both.  23 VSA 1210(d)  If convicted of Felony DUI a motorist faces up to a lifetime suspension of their driver’s license.

For Felony DUI, a motorist must show abstinence from alcohol for a three year period, at which point it shall be at the DMV’s discretion to determine whether they will reinstate an individual’s license. 23 VSA 1209a(b)

One thought on “Vermont DUI Penalties

Leave a Reply to Vermont Dui Info Cancel reply