No personal shall operate their motor vehicle at 60mph or more on a public highway and at a speed 30mph or greater over the posted speed limit. 23 VSA 1097.
Those convicted of the Vermont Excessive Speed Statute can be imprisoned for not more than 90 days or fined not more than $300 or both.
Defending a Vermont Excessive Speed charge encompasses two tracts: 1) Attacking the evidence and 2) Mitigation.
In many cases, both tracts need to be explored and a strategy needs to be put in place that not only places doubt as to the State’s case, but may also paint the motorist in the best possible light in the event a negotiated plea is reached. It is essential that all the “eggs” are not placed in one basket and that a multifaceted approach to the charge is formulated in order to achieve the best possible result for the defendant.